Governing Body

Acresfield Primary School Governing Body

The Governing Body at Acresfield supports the school with its strategic direction. It is an active body that works closely with the staff to ensure the best outcomes for our children. Through Full Governing Body meetings and in Committee meetings it challenges and supports the school, by asking questions and engaging in discussion. Individual governors also make visits to the school each term, to gain insight into aspects of the work going on, which helps to keep governors informed and up to date with school policy and practice.

The Governing Body is currently made up of the following governors –

  • The Headteacher
  • 5 Parent Governors
  • 1 Staff Governor
  • 1 Local Authority Governor
  • 5 Co-opted Governors

To formally see our Instrument of Government please open the following link: Instrument of Government


The governors work in the following four committees: Staffing and Finance, Teaching and Learning, Community and Environment.

Each committee has a chair.

Ian Wilson is the chair of Staffing and Finance.

Members are: Lindsey Jones, Julia Williams

** is the chair of Teaching and Learning.

Members are: Sarah Bazley, Chloe Carberry, Lindsey Jones

Ian Wilson is the chair of Community.

Members are: Sarah Bazley, Mike Hatton, Hannah Munnelly, Diane Hutchinson

Michael Hatton is the chair of Environment.

Members are:  Hannah Munnelly, Julia Williams, Sally Campton

Headteacher Performance Review: Ian Wilson and Julia Williams

Terms of Reference

Please click on the following links to see the terms of reference for each committee.

Community Committee Terms of Reference

Environment Committee Terms of Reference

Finance and Staffing Committee Terms of Reference

Teaching and Learning Committee Terms of Reference

Governors with Special Responsibilities:

  • Achievement & Pupil Premium: Ian Wilson
  • Safeguarding: Sarah Bazley
  • PSHCE & Pupil Voice:
  • Governor Training: Mike Hatton
  • Diversity & Inclusion: Lindsey Jones
  • Health & Safety and Mental Health: Hannah Munnelly
  • Curriculum:
  • Leadership & Management: Ian Wilson
  • P.E.: Mike Hatton

For further information about the structure of the governing body, please click on the following link. Governing Body Structure. For information regarding any business, financial or other interests of our governing body, please click on the following link. Register of Governor Interests

Below is a list of our governors with an accompanying pen portrait.

Chair of Governors

Mr Ian Wilson  –

Name: Ian Wilson. Date of Appointment: October 2013 and June 2017. Term of office: 4 years. Appointed by: Parents. Pecuniary Interests: None.  Attendance Record 2016/17: 8/9

I am the father of two children, my son has progressed through Acresfield onto Calday Grange Grammar School, my daughter is currently in year 3. I am a parent Governor and head coach and referee for under 12’s at Chester Rugby Club. I have been a Governor at Acresfield for 5 years. The last two years I have been Chair of Governors. Being a Parent Governor has given me the opportunity to use my skills and experience to help the school to achieve the best outcomes for Acresfield and its pupils.

Committee members

Mrs Sarah Bazley

Name: Sarah Bazley. Date of Appointment: October 2012. Term of office: 4 years. Appointed by: Co-opted by the school. Pecuniary Interests:  None. Attendance Record 2016/17: 8/9

I am the Learning Manager at Chester Zoo, specialising in conservation education and science communication and I have worked in Zoo education for over 10 years, I became a Community Governor in 2011 and now have the extra responsibilities for Safeguarding and e-safety.

Mrs Chloe Carberry

Name: Chloe Carberry. Date of Appointment: Re-elected September 2014. Term of office: 4 years. Appointed by: Staff. Pecuniary Interests:  None Attendance Record 2016/17: 6/9

I am Deputy Headteacher at Acresfield and a staff representative on the governing body. I have been a governor at the school for four years and am currently part of the Teaching and Learning committee.


Mr Mike Dixon

As Headteacher, I am delighted to work with such a strong, proactive governing body. It is a good team, who work well together and have helped drive the school forward to ensure our pupils achieve outstanding outcomes in terms of their personal and academic development. This was recognised by Ofsted in their last inspection in 2014 and since then the school has continued to thrive and move forward, building on the excellent work highlighted by Ofsted.

Mr Mike Hatton

Name: Mike Hatton. Date of Appointment: re-appointed October 2014. Term of office: 4 years. Appointed by: Cheshire West and Chester. Pecuniary Interests: None Attendance Record 2016/17: 8/8

I am a multi-term Local Authority appointed Governor providing a degree of continuity, an Upton resident, parent of a former pupil and grandparent of a prospective pupil. I am Chair of the Environment Committee . I have served on a number of committees over my previous terms of office. Out of school I am a season ticket holder and one of the many co-owners of Chester FC.

Mrs Lindsey Jones

Name: Lindsey Jones. Date of Appointment: May 2015. Term of office: 4 years. Appointed by: Parents. Pecuniary Interests: None. Attendance Record 2016/17: 8/9

I have one child at the school currently and one who has left and now gone to High School. I am the governor responsible for inclusion, which means I meet the school’s inclusion manager and look at the work the school is doing to support all the learners with their range of needs

Mrs Hannah Munnelly

Name: Hannah Munnelly. Date of Appointment: June 2017. Term of office: 4 years. Appointed by: Parents. Pecuniary Interests:  None. Attendance Record 2016/17: N/A

I have two children at the school. My responsibility as Governor is for Health and Safety and Mental Health. I was elected parent Governor  in 2017 when my children joined the school. I feel extremely proud to be able to work alongside this great team to help support this fantastic school.

Mrs Julia Williams

Name: Julia Williams. Date of Appointment: October 21 2016. Term of office: 4 years. Appointed by: Parents. Pecuniary Interests:  None. Attendance Record 2016/17: N/A

I have two children, my daughter is at Acresfield and my older son is now in high school. I work part time as a pre school assistant having gained a level 3 in Early Years Child Care and Development. I am enthusiastic to see children learn in a fun but supportive way and as a parent to feel I can have confidence in and have a good relationship with the school. I sit on the Environment and Staffing and Finance Committees.


Miss Diane Hutchinson


Name: Diane Hutchinson Date of Appointment: February 27th 2018. Term of office: 4 years. Appointed by: Co-opted. Pecuniary Interests: None. Attendance Record 2016/17: N/A

I am the school Higher Level Teaching Assistant having worked at Acresfield since 2006. I have three children one of which is now at High School and my second at Acresfield. I work across the whole school from early years to  year 6 and am passionate about my job and love working with children of all ages. As a school Governor I look forward to working closely with the other Governors to further develop our three core principles – respect, responsibility and resilience.


Miss Sally Campton

Name: Sally Campton. Date of Appointment: February 27th 2018. Term of office: 4 years. Appointed by: Co-opted. Pecuniary Interests: None. Attendance Record 2016/17: N/A

I am proud to be a class teacher, the mathematics subject lead at Acresfield and to be part of such a forward thinking team. I am staff representative on the governing body and I am a member of the Environment Committee.


Mr T Fellows

Name:Mr T Fellows. Date of Appointment: 22nd October 2018. Term of office: 4 years. Appointed by: Parents. Pecuniary Interests: None. Attendance Record 2016/2017: N/A